Hidden Animal Ingredients in Food

Here are some of the most common unusual non-vegan ingredients. As long as you try to avoid these as much as possible, that’s all you can do since it can be very hard to pick up on every single non vegan ingredient while scanning the list of ingredients of foods.

Albunim

  • What it is: The protein components of egg whites
  • Where you find it: Processed foods

 

Carmina (carmine cochineal or carminic acid)

  • What it is: Red coloring derived from ground up insects
  • Where you find it: Bottled juices, candy, colored pasta, makeup, popsicles

 

Casein (caseinate)

  • What it is: A milk protein
  • Where you find it: In dairy products and sometimes soy cheeses

 

Glucose (dextrose)

  • What it is: Fluids and tissues from animals (some glucose comes from fruit)
  • Where you find it: Baked goods, carbonated drinks, candies, frosting

 

Glycerides (mono-, di- and triglycerides)

  • What it is: Glycerol from animal fats (sometimes from plants)
  • Where you find it: Processed foods

 

Isinglass

  • What it is: Gelatin from the air bladder of freshwater fish, mostly the sturgeon
  • Where you find it: Alcoholic beverage, jelly desserts

 

Lactic Acid

  • What it is: An acid formed by bacteria acting on the milk sugar, lactose
  • Where you find it: Cheese, yogurt, pickles, olives, sauerkraut, candy, frozen desserts, fruit preserves

 

Lactose (saccharum lactin, D-lactose)

  • What it is: Milk sugar
  • Where you find it: For souring milk and processed foods

 

Lactylic stearate

    • What it is: Salt of stearic acid
  • Where you find it: Bread dough

 

Lard

  • What it is: Fat from pigs
  • Where you find it: Baked goods, refried beans

 

Lecithin

  • What it is: Phospholipids from animal tissues and eggs, sometimes from plants
  • Where you find it: Baked goods, candy, cereal, chocolate, vegetable oil sprays

 

Lutein

  • What it is: Yellow coloring from egg yolks (sometimes marigolds)
  • Where you find it: Food coloring

Natural Flavor

  • What it is: Usually derived from an assortment of animal products
  • Where you find it: Beverages, boxed foods, canned foods, processed foods

 

Oleic acid (oleinic acid)

  • What it is: Animal tallow
  • Where you find it: Beverages, candy, condiments, vegetable fats and oils

Pepsin

  • What it is: Enzyme from pigs’ stomachs
  • Where you find it: Cheese

Stearic acid (octadecanoic acid)

  • What it is: Tallow as well as other animal fats and oils
  • Where you find it: Baked goods, beverages, candy, vanilla flavoring

Suet

  • What it is: Fat around kidneys and loins of animals
  • Where you find it: Pastries

Tallow

  • What it is: Fat of sheep and cattle
  • Where you find it: Margarine

Vitamin A (A1, retinol)

  • What it is: Vitamin produced by microorganisms and found in all animal products; synthetic form (cyanocobalamin or cobalamin on labels) is vegan
  • Where you find it: Vitamin supplements, fortified foods

Vitamin B12

  • What it is: Vitamin produced by microorganisms and found in all animal products; synthetic form (cyanocobalamin or cobalamin on labels) is vegan
  • Where you find it: Supplements, fortified foods

Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol)

  • What it is: Comes from fish liver oils or lanolin
  • Where you find it: Supplements, fortified foods

Whey

  • What it is: Watery liquid that separates from the solids in cheese-making
  • Where you find it: Breads, cakes, crackers, processed foods

 

For an even more detailed list, click here for Peta’s master post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s