Types Of Vegan Diets

I was looking for a list like this, but couldn’t find one! The only thing I could find were different types of vegetarians, but there are also many different ways to be vegan! I’ll list some below with a short description for each and keep adding more as I hear of them to give you examples of how diverse and varied the vegan community is!

Junk food vegan: I think this is how most of us started out, considering there are so many accidentally vegan foods. It’s probably not a diet per se- but I do remember living at least 6 months solely on Sarah Lee fruit pies and Lays chips.

Raw vegan: Raw veganism is raw foodism and veganism combined. Raw vegans not only exclude animal products but cooked food (sometimes just food cooked above 48°C (118°F). You can read more about it here!

Raw Till 4: A diet formulated by Freelee the Banana Girl that emphasises the importance of not calorie restricting and instead consuming unlimited calories of the right food. You eat whole, unprocessed raw foods until 4pm at which point you may / should eat a cooked meal. This lifestyle is High Carb Low Fat.

HCLF: High Carb Low Fat. Most of your       carbs are coming from fruits, that’s the bulk of it. Other carbs will be from rice quinoa potatoes corn ect. but the emphasis is mostly on fruit. Learn more about it!

– 80 / 10 / 10: 80% Carbohydrates 80% Fat 80% Protein

– 90 / 5 / 5: 90% Carbohydrates 5% Fat 5% Protein

Fruitarian: A subset of veganism that consists entirely or primarily of fruits and supplemented with nuts and seeds.

Organic vegan: A vegan diet that only consists of organic foods.

Paleo vegan: The paleo diets focus is on eating what we were “meant to”, which most meat eaters and even some vegans and vegetarians would say is primarily meat. In other words, it isn’t very vegan friendly. According to No Meat Athlete-

“You’d be eating a lot of lots of fruits and vegetables, sweet potatoes, oils like olive, coconut, and canola, nuts, and nut-like seeds. And pretty much any sugar you’d eat would come from fruits.

Not allowed: All grains, including wheat, rice, barley, oats, rye, and corn; grain-like seeds, including quinoa, amaranth, and buckwheat; all legumes, including beans, chickpeas, lentils, peas, and soy; starchy tubers such as potatoes; dairy, alcohol, most sugars except in fruit.”

Read more about it on No Meat Athlete here!

Gluten-free vegan: A vegan diet that does not include foods with gluten.

That’s all I can think of right now. Let us know if you have any to add!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s